top of page

Attarat Power Company Receives Power Project of the Year Award 2019

Petroleum Economist

Nov 19, 2019

The winners of the 2019 Petroleum Economist Awards were announced in London on 19 November

LONDON, Nov. 20, 2019 / -- Honouring the global energy industry's most successful firms, projects and innovations, Petroleum Economist has announced the winners of its 2019 Petroleum Economist Awards in 10 categories.  Additionally, five awards were given to outstanding individuals for their industry contributions. 

Mohammed bin Hamad Al Rumhi, minister of oil and gas in the Sultanate of Oman, scooped the Minister of the Year award, while Lorenzo Simonelli of oil services heavyweight Baker Hughes was honoured as CEO of the Year. 

Wael Abdel Moati of the Organisation of Arab Petroleum Exporting Countries won the Future Leader award and Harib Al Kitani, CEO of Oman LNG was named Energy Executive of the Year. In the evening’s finale, Nathan Meehan, president of consultancy Gaffney, Cline & Associates was honoured for his storied petroleum engineering career with the Legacy award.  

“Once again, we were delighted to welcome some of the most innovative firms and influential leaders from across the globe to London for the Petroleum Economist Awards,” said Elliot Jacobs, managing director of Petroleum Economist. “I extend warm congratulations to all those nominated, shortlisted and, especially, those winning in what were, as every year, hotly contested competitions across the full range of categories.” 

The Petroleum Economist Awards 2019 categories and winners are: 

M&A of the YearEnergean/Edison

Energy Executive of the YearHarib Al Kitani - Oman LNG

Offshore Services and Equipment (OFSE) Company of the YearSeadrill

Energy Advisory of the YearEY

Gas/LNG Project of the YearTechnipFMC - Yamal LNG

Contribution of the Year to the Energy TransitionSiemens 

Future LeaderWael Abdel Moati - OapecLegal ServicesWhite & Case 

Discovery of the YearGlengorm – CNOOC International

Power Project of the Year (Editorial Award)Attarat Power Company

Energy Finance Provider of the YearStandard Chartered Bank 

Energy Company of the YearEnergean  

Chief Executive of the YearLorenzo Simonelli - Baker HughesMinister of the YearMohammed bin Hamad Al Rumhi (Oman) 

Legacy AwardNathan Meehan - Gaffney, Cline & Associates  

The recipients learnt of their wins during a gala event held on 19 November at One Great George Street, Westminster. The evening was hosted by Petroleum Economist editor-in-chief Peter Ramsay, while actor, comedian and writer Miles Jupp entertained guests post-dinner with a well-received speech. 

Petroleum Economist is the global authority on energy economics and trends, offering genuinely value-add intelligence and opinion on the events and people shaping the industry. Since 1934 readers have used its essential insight and intelligence to inform decision-making and strategy. 

bottom of page